A soldier’s heart goes out to his deceased friend, Sandeep Unnikrishnan

I received a mail from my friend Maj. Varun Bajpai whose heart goes to his very close friend Maj. Sandeep Unnikrishnan. He expresses his feelings for all the soldiers who laid their lives in the line of fire. Truly, these soldiers are the real heroes everything else fades away in front of these real sons of the nations. Let’s just see what goes inside a soldier as he recalls a poem dedicated to all the soldiers who fought and sacrificed their lives for their beloved nation. My eyes are moistened as I see Maj. Sandeep Unnikrishnan’s profile under Varun Bajpai’s profile on facebook. Sandeep Unnikrishnan and all who sacrificed their life in this ordeal have become immortal in every heart that beats in this country.

 

Major Varun says

As the carnage continues in Mumbai, and the innocent blood splashes all over the scene… accompanied by all the meretricious and politically correct statements of our politicians, one thing is sure, that at least few men of honour are there on whom, we rely with our baton of existence and survival. As on date when our fellow Officers and men are pioneering the offensive on behalf of the nation, I feel proud to be part of the forces, with all its ups and downs… The officers and men who have laid their lives for nation, relentlessly giving their best, without a wink or a thought are the real heroes… They somehow proved that ‘come what may’, Humanity would be the last adored virtue, always and every time. Let’s carry the thankfulness in our heart in its most genuine form without any show-off, because certainly the men in arms deserve it. I SALUTE THEM.

 

The poem “SENTRY” was written while holding a post in atop a mountain somewhere on the LOC… Hope it makes all sense now… 

 

                     SENTRY

 

Life often comes knocking at my door

           for a casual appraisal of our daily chore

It chides me often for wasting it away

           for drifting with me and loosing myself in its sway

 

The other day I stood sentry after last light

          when life came visiting at the sentry post site

It gave me a strange look and then remarked

         how can you be sentry for the life’s better part

 

I looked at life and smiled at its loving concern

         and said, “from a soldier, you have a lot to learn”

Gazing at the horizon and then yonder

          I was ready with a reply, after a brief ponder

 

Life, you often spend your life without 

          a worthwhile cause

Today you must think and give yourself

          a brief pause….

 

life was taken aback, to be astonished

she was surprised, and she was astonished

 

When a sentry stands guard in his

         battle fatigues dressed

He is the one, who is doubly blessed

         Blesses him God, for the harsh duty he stands

Blesses him all people for safety to them 

         and their lands

 

When I stand sentry, I enable the children to read

         to grow up tomorrow and give us the lead

When I stand sentry, the farmers till their land

        They churn out rich crops from the grains of sand

 

When I stand sentry, the doctors save your progeny

         they toil to carry out life saving surgery

When I stand sentry, factories work day and night

         contributing in no small measure to the nation’s might

 

When I stand sentry, in comfort works the scientific minds

         to reinvent science and making us proud with their new find

When I stand sentry, in peace the people sleep

         to awaken the next day, ready for a giant leap

 

When I stand sentry, on the altar of duty I pray

          tell me life of all, who is the luckiest today

My duty is GOD, my duty is DIVINE

          What’s better than life in the duty’s line

 

This is a very small description in my words, but I m sure we all should be proud of our soldiers beyond the preview of the above mentioned lines.

 

JAI HIND

Major Varun Bajpai

 

I salute all the soldiers who have dedicated their lives to protect us and our nation.

12 Comments

  1. great, what else to say for such patrotic heros

  2. Certainly, I feel so small in front of these true sons of the nation.

  3. I can recall a poem which I read in this blog of Mr. rajeev vaid.He had posted a poem composed by a 24-year old career officer in the Indian Armed Forces, spurred by the report of the Sixth Pay Commission.A really heart rending poem i have read after a long span of time.Here it goes:

    Why do I still serve India?

    By
    An anonymous soldier
    ______________________

    How you play with us, did you ever see?
    At Seven, I had decided what I wanted to be;
    I would serve you to the end,
    All these boundaries I would defend.

    Now you make me look like a fool,
    When at Seventeen and just out of school;
    Went to the place where they made ‘men out of boys’
    Lived a tough life …sacrificed a few joys…

    In those days, I would see my ‘civilian’ friends,
    Living a life with the fashion trends;
    Enjoying their so called ‘College Days’
    While I sweated and bled in the sun and haze…
    But I never thought twice about what where or why
    All I knew was when the time came, I’d be ready to do or die.

    At 21 and with my commission in hand,
    Under the glory of the parade and the band,
    I took the oath to protect you over land, air or sea,
    And make the supreme sacrifice when the need came to be.

    I stood there with a sense of recognition,
    But on that day I never had the premonition,
    that when the time came to give me my due,
    You’d just say,’ What is so great that you do?’

    Long back you promised a well to do life;
    And when I’m away, take care of my wife.
    You came and saw the hardships I live through,
    And I saw you make a note or two,
    And I hoped you would realise the worth of me;
    but now I know you’ll never be able to see,
    Because you only see the glorified life of mine,
    Did you see the place where death looms all the time?
    Did you meet the man standing guard in the snow?
    The name of his newborn he does not know…
    Did you meet the man whose father breathed his last?
    While the sailor patrolled our seas so vast?

    You still know I’ll not be the one to raise my voice
    I will stand tall and protect you in Punjab Himachal and Thois.

    But that’s just me you have in the sun and rain,
    For now at Twenty Four, you make me think again;
    About the decision I made, Seven years back;
    Should I have chosen another life, some other track?

    Will I tell my son to follow my lead?
    Will I tell my son, you’ll get all that you need?
    This is the country you will serve
    This country will give you all that you deserve?

    I heard you tell the world ‘India is shining’
    I told my men, that’s a reason for us to be smiling
    This is the India you and I will defend!
    But tell me how long will you be able to pretend?
    You go on promise all that you may,
    But it’s the souls of your own men you betray.

    Did you read how some of our eminent citizens
    Write about me and ridicule my very existence?
    I ask you to please come and see what I do,
    Come and have a look at what I go through
    Live my life just for a day
    Maybe you’ll have something else to say?

    I will still risk my life without a sigh
    To keep your flag flying high
    but today I ask myself a question or two…
    Oh India…. Why do I still serve you?

  4. I sallute U Maj. Sandeep Unnikrishnan for your bravery and patriotism..
    with your sincere work, you hav become the ROLE MODEL of many little hearts …
    I feel very proud to be an Indian…. and that may be only bcuzz of people like U..
    U will be always remembered..
    I salute U and all those who have shown what patriotism is….
    JAI HIND!!

  5. hey praky…. good going buddy… thanks for putting this on the webpage.. hope it lets ur realise the contribution of a no of unsung heros, who give away their lives without being heard .

  6. I am proud of Maj to Sandeep Unnikrishnan. I wish u would be alive to see how much people love you today….
    We all salute to you and your parents who gifted this country a saviour.
    Who alone took bullets on his chest to save crores of indians.
    I wish we never knew you at cost of you sacrificing your life…
    We all love you nd are proud of you your were an angel in disguise of an soldier.
    HAI HIND! !!!!

  7. I AM VERY MUCH INSPIRED BY MAJ.SANDEEP UNNIKRISHNAN.
    HE IS MY HERO FOREVER I REMEMBER HIM UNTILL MY LAST BREATH.
    I FEEL PROUD OF HIM AND MY NATION

  8. I AM VERY MUCH INSPIRED BY MAJ.SANDEEP UNNIKRISHNAN.
    HE IS MY HERO FOREVER I REMEMBER HIM UNTILL MY LAST BREATH.
    I FEEL PROUD OF HIM AND MY NATION.
    VANDEMATARAM.

  9. I bow to all those soldiers who are putting a genuine effort to keep the tiranga flying high in spite of all bad things that are happening around them.

    JAI HIND

  10. Feel lost/shameful that we can’t (don’t even try) to reciprocate even 1% of what Maj. Sandeep Unnikrishnan did for us. 100 crore of us are alive and enjoy freedom because UnniKrishnan level families bring up Sandeep for our country. I pray to Him that i get opportunity to do something for my mother land. Salaam to Sandeep’s parents and Dadwant Pranam to Sandeep’s Soul.

  11. braveheart

  12. I salute him.
    One of the many greats from the NDA.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

